The CW’s Crazy Tiny Nose Jew, Kill iZombie, Boyz 4 Now!

XGF-EpPreview-102-JoshsGirlfriendIsReallyCool-CW_a7dcf96a8_CWtv_720x400
This is NOT the Ex-GF with the BF — rather it’s the Ex-BF’s current GF. D’uh.

While it’s clear that I’m not this CBS/Time Warner-owned network’s classic target audience, I often find myself enjoying the CW’s slightly-quirky-while-mostly-mainstream fare.

That said, I was sure I was going to hate one of their best reviewed new shows: Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.

  • There’s that sexist title (something the show addresses itself in a song), that they share with a terrible, misogynistic Luke Wilson movie.
  • The Felicity-like premise of a successful woman giving up everything for a crush also felt lame to me in this day-and-age (though Felicity was fun, the first few seasons).
  • Plus, songs. Musical TV shows have such a bad track record, I don’t have to even name any of them. You know who they are! I think Disney movies have too much music. Not a fan of people suddenly bursting into song.

    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend -- Eddy Chen/The CW -- © 2015 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend — Eddy Chen/The CW — © 2015 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

But shockingly, I’m loving Crazy Ex-GF. Just when I think I’m going lose my mind with annoyance, they reel me right back in with their true-to-life (if you’re slightly bipolar), witty story. I even like the songs.

Here’s the video of my favorite song so far, the West Covina Song. It’s a hummable show tune, but subsequent numbers have embraced other genres.

And forgive me if I have turned into my grandfather who went to his grave believing that Christopher Columbus and FDR were Jewish, but I love that this is the first show I have ever seen make hilariously tasteless jokes about Jewish noses and legal acumen.

I’m worried though, that Crazy Ex-Girlfriend will run out of story. I wish  American TV  comedies would consider limited UK-style runs, the way we have started to do for dramas. I also worry that men will hate it. It feels so specifically female.

Photo: Carole Segal/The CW -- © 2015 The CW Network, LLC. All rights reserved.
I fired this! Photo: Carole Segal/The CW — © 2015 The CW Network, LLC. All rights reserved.

Deleted From My DVR

Speaking of hate, I’m sad to report that iZombie must die. Only three episodes into their second season, they have violated the rules of good TV writing, concocting bizarre situations to maintain the status quo on the one hand, while changing everything fundamental about another principal character on the other, presumably to “spice” things up. Since they have decided they are locked into having the main character assume the personality of a different dead person each episode, I assume they want to keep the B stories wildly unpredictable. But are they locked in? “Based” on a comic book means just that. They have to make it their own.

I get it. TV writers have a difficult task in this post-Sopranos/Six Feet Under era, with audiences demanding character development and ever more exciting plot lines, but other supernatural shows have managed to keep it fresh without spoiling what was good about their show in the first place. Supernatural, arguably the crown jewel of the CW is one, but there are multiple examples. It pains me even more to have to delete iZombie because I was a big fan of Veronica Mars, which the iZombie creators were responsible for. I even liked the Veronica Mars movie.

They also violated my rule about dogs. It takes a lot for me to delete something from my DVR but it’s done.

BTW, why do they call it “the” CW? I have Wiki’ed this question and have yet to receive satisfaction.  I know what it stands for, but why “the” the? Is it a freeway?

Boyz 4 Now: I Heart You!

Credit: Bob’s Burgers Wiki

Speaking of musical shows that don’t suck, animated shows (see South Park) can get away with bursting into song, as long as the songs are amazing. Bob’s Burgers has a long history of both cracking me up and delighting me with their songs. The Halloween Episode, the Hauntening introduces a new song from their fictitious boy band, Boyz 4 Now (see right) that I’d like to download to my iTunes. What’s the hold up, Fox? I’ll even pay for it. I like it so much, it’s scary.

 

 

Leave a Reply

